Posted by: a2cristina | December 15, 2019

A travel Story

 

An Uncomfortable Night

Put the following sentences in the right order:

 

 

1. This happened about ten years ago when I was on holiday in England.

A.    After a while we arrived in a dark, narrow street and the taxi stopped outside an old building.
B.     and saw that I was covered with red marks. Bed bugs!
C.     And then I began to feel itchy too. I switched on the light
D.    as a friend had recommended one before I left. It was the White House Hotel.
E.     But he smiled and shook his head. ‘All our rooms are the same’, he said.
F.      Fortunately it was August, so we didn’t freeze to death.
G.    He showed us up to a room on the top floor – a long climb.
H.    I told the name to the taxi driver and he drove off, giving me a slightly strange look.
I.       It was too late to find another hotel so we ended up sleeping in the bus station.
J.       Not wanting to get bitten all night, we decided to check out there and then.
K.    such a terrible place. ‘White House?’ she said, pulling a face. I never told you
L.     The old man gave us our money back without complaining – perhaps he was used to it.
M.   There was no bathroom and the room smelled of damp but it was now midnight.
N.    There was no lift in the hotel and the man at reception looked about a hundred years old.
O.    There was nothing we could do, so we got undressed and went to bed.
P.      to go to the White House Hotel – everyone knows it’s a dump. I said the White Horse Hotel!’
Q.    We arrived in Cambridge very late. However, I knew the name of a hotel
R.     We went downstairs and asked the ancient receptionist for another room.
S.      We’d only been in bed for a few minutes when I heard my friend scratching.
T.      When I saw my friend again a few weeks later, I asked her why she’d recommended

 

 

 

KEY

Travel anecdote: an uncomfortable night

 

This happened about ten years ago when I was on holiday in England. +
We arrived in Cambridge very late. However, I knew the name of a hotel
as a friend had recommended one before I left. It was the White House Hotel.
I told the name to the taxi driver and he drove off, giving me a slightly strange look.
After a while we arrived in a dark, narrow street and the taxi stopped outside an old building. +
There was no lift in the hotel and the man at reception looked about a hundred years old.+
He showed us up to a room on the top floor – a long climb. *
There was no bathroom and the room smelled of damp but it was now midnight. +
There was nothing we could do, so we got undressed and went to bed.
We’d only been in bed for a few minutes when I heard my friend scratching.
And then I began to feel itchy too. I switched on the light
and saw that I was covered with red marks. Bed bugs!
We went downstairs and asked the ancient receptionist for another room.
But he smiled and shook his head. ‘All our rooms are the same’, he said.
Not wanting to get bitten all night, we decided to check out there and then. +
The old man gave us our money back without complaining – perhaps he was used to it.*
It was too late to find another hotel so we ended up sleeping in the bus station. +
Fortunately it was August, so we didn’t freeze to death.*
When I saw my friend again a few weeks later, I asked her why she’d recommended**
such a terrible place. ‘White House?’ she said, pulling a face. I never told you**
to go to the White House Hotel – everyone knows it’s a dump. I said the White Horse Hotel!’**

 

From: https://www.google.com/search?sxsrf=ACYBGNQho_GGSJLZJBqTJJsaa2HZAWglFg%3A1576410889141&ei=CR_2XZyTCOyKlwSEmJHIBA&q=travel+anecdote+an+uncomfortable+night&oq=Travel+anecdote%3A+an+uncomfortable+night+&gs_l=psy-ab.1.0.0i30.7263.11037..13054…0.2..0.124.209.1j1……0….1..gws-wiz…….0i71j35i39.3aVAtX3Iub4

 

 

 

 


Leave a comment

Categories