Posted by: a2cristina | December 14, 2019

MUSTN’T and DON’T / DOESN’T HAVE TO

MUSTN’T and DON’T / DOESN’T HAVE TO

 

We use must not or mustn’t to say that it is important NOT to do something. It also expresses a certain kind of prohibition.

We use don’t have to to say that something is NOT NECESSARY.

 

Complete the sentences with mustn’t or don’t / doesn’t have to.

 

  1. I don’t want anyone to know. You _______________ tell anyone.
  2. He _______________ wear a suit to work, but he usually does.
  3. I can stay in bed tomorrow morning because I _______________ go to work.
  4. Whatever you do (hagas lo que hagas), you _______________ touch that switch. It’s very dangerous.
  5. There’s a lift in the building, so we _______________ climb the stairs.
  6. You _______________ forget what I told you. It’s very important.
  7. Don’t make so much noise. We _______________ wake the baby.
  8. I _______________ eat too much. I’m supposed to be (se supone que estoy) on a diet.
  9. You _______________ be a good player to enjoy a game of tennis.
  10. Sue _______________ get up early. She gets up early because she wants to.
  11. We _______________ hurry. We are early.
  12. You _______________ stay up late. You’ve got school tomorrow morning.
  13. You _______________ stay up late to wash the dishes. I’ll wash them in the morning.
  14. We _______________ leave the door open. The rain will come in.
  15. We _______________ leave the door open. Peter has got a key.
  16. You _______________ write to John about this. I have already written to him.
  17. You _______________ write to John about this. If you do, he’ll tell everybody.
  18. You _______________ drive so fast. The police will stop you.
  19. You _______________ drive so fast. We’ve got a lot of time.
  20. I _______________ look in the cupboard again. I’ve looked in there twice.
  21. I _______________ look in the cupboard. Ann has hidden my birthday present in there.
  22. You _______________ wear your best clothes. You’ll get them dirty.
  23. I _______________ forget my keys, or I won’t get in.

 

 

KEY

 

  1. MUSTN’T
  2. DOESN’T HAVE TO
  3. DON’T HAVE TO
  4. MUSTN’T
  5. DON’T HAVE TO
  6. MUSTN’T
  7. MUSTN’T
  8. MUSTN’T
  9. DON’T HAVE TO
  10. DOESN’T HAVE TO
  11. DON’T HAVE TO
  12. MUSTN’T
  13. DON’T HAVE TO
  14. MUSTN’T
  15. DON’T HAVE TO
  16. DON’T HAVE TO
  17. MUSTN’T
  18. MUSTN’T
  19. DON’T HAVE TO
  20. DON’T HAVE TO
  21. MUSTN’T
  22. MUSTN’T
  23. MUSTN’T

Leave a comment

Categories